[ Inscrivez-vous ]

Newsletter, Alertes

Côte d'Ivoire : Inauguration ceremony of the President of the Republic

Imprimer PDF

Abidjan, Cote d’Ivoire, December 11 (Infosplusgabon) -  According to an official statement, the swearing-in ceremony of President re-elected Alassane Ouattara will take place on Monday  December 14, 2020 in Abidjan, in the presence of heads of state, heads of diplomatic missions and representatives of international institutions.




Following his re-election in the presidential election of  October 31, President Alassane Ouattara will be sworn in for a new term on Mondayfrom 11:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. at the Presidential Palace of the Republic, in the presence of more than 300 guests.


The inauguration ceremony will be a sober affair due to the ongoing health crisis and will take place as follows:


- Opening of the ceremony by the President of the Constitutional Council, followed by the reading of the decision to proclaim the final results of the presidential election;


- Oath of office by President Alassane Ouattara, sworn on the Constitution of Cote d’Ivoire. This will be the first time that Article 58 paragraph 1 of the Constitution of 8 November 2016 will be used in a presidential inauguration;


- Congratulations to be given by the members of the Constitutional Council led by the Secretary General;


- Presentation of the "Grand Collar of the Order" to the President of the Republic by the Grand Chancellor of the National Order;


- Solemn address by the President of the Republic, followed by military honours on the esplanade of the Palace of the Presidency of the Republic.



Heads of State and Government will be present, including from the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS): Patrice Talon (Benin), Roch Marc Christian Kaboré (Burkina Faso), Denis Sassou-Nguesso (Congo), Sahle-Work Zewde (Ethiopia), Nana Akufo-Addo (Ghana), also current Chairman of ECOWAS, Umaro Sissoco Embalo (Guinea-Bissau), George Weah (Liberia), Bah N’Daw (Mali), Mohamed Ould El-Ghazouani (Mauritania), Mahamadou Issoufou (Niger), Macky Sall (Senegal) and Faure Gnassingbé (Togo). The President of South Africa, Cyril Ramaphosa, who is also the current Chairman of the African Union, will be represented by his Minister of Mineral Resources and Energy, Gwede Mantashe, and France will be represented by the Minister of Europe and Foreign Affairs, Jean-Yves Le Drian.


The President of the African Union Commission, Moussa Faki Mahamat, the President of the Commission of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS), Jean-Claude Kassi Brou, the President of the Commission of the West African Economic and Monetary Union (WAEMU), Abdallah Boureima, as well as the Special Representative of the Secretary-General of the United Nations for West Africa and the Sahel, Mohamed Ibn Chambas, are also expected to attend. (Source: Côte d'Ivoire Presidency).





© Copyright  Infosplusgabon

Qui est en ligne!

Nous avons 3322 invités en ligne


Liaisons Représentées: